A Window onto a Confucian Society

By Claude Tate

Movies are great tools for those of us who tell the stories of humanity’s past and present. Consequently, throughout my career I have constantly been on the prowl for movies I could use in my classes. I first became acquainted with “Raise the Red Lantern” in a MALS class I took here at UNC-G under Professor Tony Fragola. Besides being an excellent movie in and of itself, I’ve found it to be a valuable addition to units I’ve taught on both China and on Confucianism.  When I taught World History, I used it on numerous occasions to introduce my unit on China. I do not use it in any of my BLS classes.  But when we do our lesson on the Confucian approach to organizing the state in my “Self, Society, and Salvation” course, students sometimes want to know what a society built on Confucian principles would actually look like in practice.  I haven’t hesitated to recommend this movie.  I can think of no other resource that bring those age old principles to life to the degree that this movie can.   Zhang Yimou portrays not only the force and oppressiveness of the culture that evolved in China in which everyone has a clearly defined role, but also how people cope within this highly structured society, and what happens to those who rebel.

One note…Many people avoid movies that are subtitled, but Zhang Yimou is so effective in telling his story with the lens of his camera that one can understand the movie completely without reading a single subtitle.

Click here to read a 1996 review of this movie by James Berardinelli, and the trailer is below:

One more thing…I love this movie. It is well worth your time even if you are not viewing it for academic purposes.

